Beach Themed Powder Room {DIY}

Hey Ya’ll!

So I thought I might share with you another one of my latest projects.  We just finished redoing our main floor powered room and I used up all my sea shells and sand that I have been collecting over the years from my own trips along with trips my friends and family have been on.  I always wanted to make something with all of these and take them out of their boring plastic containers that they have been stored in for so many years.  After coming across a few ideas on Pinterest I knew exactly what I was going to do!

I started out with the 3 big trips I have taken and brought shells back from; Italy, Vancouver and Puerta Plata. I found white frames from the dollar store that were similar to a shadow box so I had enough room to place the shells under and still be able to put the glass over top. Then I picked up painting canvas (also from the dollar store AND were the perfect fit) – I actually painted these the same blue as my main floor walls which brought the 2 rooms together and still kept the beachy theme concept. Then I gathered my 3 sets of shells and laid them out the way I wanted to glue them down. I used a type of super glue called “Lock Tight” to seal them into place, wrote in the bottom corner of each where they were actually from and the year I was there, and then put them back into their frames once it was all dried. I also glues the backs down and the glass just to make sure they were secure.

DZD_8399

DZD_8392

Then I took the rest of the shells and sand and put them into a few different sized jars (also found at the dollar store). I tried to keep each trip separate and write the place and date on the bottom of the jars. I wanted them to look great but I also wanted to remember where they were all from! I picked up 2 floating shelves and scattered all of my sand/shell jars along with some of the other beachy decor I had on them and on my counter tops. I’m so happy with the way it turned out! I have a few more ideas that I definitely want to add but I’ll have to wait until after this baby arrives before I can do them … they may or may not involve sandy baby feet … but of course I’ll share once they are done 😉   Now all I need to do is make my custom white washed barn board frames for the mirrors! One day …

DZD_8393 DZD_8395

DSC_6970
heheh accidently caught me and my bump in this last photo … it’s getting a little too big to hide!

Leave a Reply

