Introducing Miss Paisley {Shelburne Newborn Photographer}

I can’t believe that it has already been 2 weeks since we welcomed our sweet little girl into the world.  Paisley Annie Lucrezia Whyte (Annie & Lucrezia are her 2 eldest great grandmothers) graced us with her presence on Thursday June 28th 2012 at 4:41pm weighing 7lbs 8ozs and 20 inches long. It was a day I will never forget!

We had originally gone to the hospital to be induced on the wednesday but we had to be rescheduled for the following day since the hospital had an unexpectedly large amount of babies wanting to be born that day and didn’t have any rooms available.  So Adam and I headed to Kitchener for the day and as we drove around I noticed my contractions getting a little more consistent.  I really didn’t think much of it because I’ve been having Braxton Hicks contractions for the last 3 or 4 months pretty regularly.  By the evening they seemed to be more frequent and so at 10pm I started timing them and trying all the things that normally make my Braxton Hicks contractions go away – I went for a nice long walk, tried to sleep them off and tried a warm shower but they weren’t budging!  By 12:30am we decided to call the hospital but since they weren’t painful yet and they were still 5 minutes apart, the nurse said to wait a little longer.  Well no more than 10 minutes had passed and boy oh boy did they hit me like a brick wall! So Adam called again and off to the hospital we went!  This little one wasn’t waiting until morning to be induced, she was coming fast and furious! In just a few short hours I made it to 7cm dialated but little Paisley’s head wasn’t dropping and by sunrise my contractions slowed right down so the Doctor decided to help me along with some petocin.  Unfortunately nothing seemed to work and so I was scheduled in for a c-section.  Adam and I were just so excited and anxious to meet our little baby that the c-section was a relief.   At 4:41pm they announced those famous words “It’s a girl!” and we had our first look an our little angel before she was whisked away to be cleaned up and checked out.  Adam was able to stay with little Paisley but I had to go to the recovery room before I was allowed to head back to my room and cuddle Paisley .. I think that was the worst part for me; not being able to hold her right away.  But once the nurses told me I could go as soon as I could move my legs and I could feel everything it became my goal and I actually managed to make it out 20 minutes early!  And off I went to be with this little creature that had been in my tummy for the last 9+ months.  It was such an amazing feeling to hold her in my arms for the first time! I never thought I could be so content and in love!

The last 2 weeks being home with her has been amazing! Adam and I couldn’t be happier! She is the perfect addition to our little family and even our dog, Tonka, is warming right up to her!  I’ll be posting many more photos of Paisley over the next few weeks .. I’m slowly trying to get some more done but I’ll leave you all with this little teaser for now 🙂

On a final note, before I head off for some cuddles with Paisley, I just wanted to update everyone about my session scheduling.  I will be taking up until July 22 off for my mini maternity leave.  To be honest I’m not sure how I’m going to be able to leave Paisley at all this summer! So it is definitely a good thing that I love what I do .. it will make leaving her much more bearable.  So if you are looking to book your session, please contact me as soon as possible since dates are filling up quick for this summer!

One thought on “Introducing Miss Paisley {Shelburne Newborn Photographer}

  1. Pingback: Introducing Little Miss Paisley » Purple Martini Photography

Leave a Reply

